National Canada

Global News projects Justin Trudeau’s Liberals will form minority government – National

Global News is projecting a Liberal minority government.

The Liberals, led by Justin Trudeau, will head back to Parliament for a second consecutive term as the governing party, although they’ll need to negotiate support from at least one other party in order to pass any legislation while they are in office.

READ MORE: Real-time results in the federal election

Neither the Liberals nor Conservatives are projected to hit the 170-seat threshold needed for a majority government as polls were counted on Monday night.

But Global News is projecting the Liberals will hold the plurality of seats in the House of Commons.

Trudeau has also held on to his Montreal-area seat of Papineau while Conservative Leader Andrew Scheer defended his Regina-Qu’Appelle riding and Green Party Leader Elizabeth May also kept her Saanich-Gulf Islands riding as well.

Story continues below advertisement

Federal Election 2019: ‘Excitement’ at Liberal headquarters

Federal Election 2019: ‘Excitement’ at Liberal headquarters

Polls have closed in all regions of the country now and it is those early results that form the basis of Global’s projection.

Based on those polls, voters in Atlantic Canada — which the Liberals swept entirely in 2015 — showed an early preference for the Liberals with the majority of elected candidates from that region so far being from that party.

READ MORE: Should party with most seats get first crack at forming government? Here’s how minorities work

Of those Atlantic Liberals, the cabinet ministers who have held on to their seats are Dominic LeBlanc, Seamus O’Regan, Bernadette Jordan, Ginette Petispas Taylor and Lawrence MacAulay as well as Geoff Regan, who was Speaker of the House of Commons most recently, and longtime Liberal Wayne Easter.

Liberal backbenchers Scott Simms, Gudie Hutchings, Ken McDonald, René Arseneault, Bobby Morrissey, Andy Fillmore and Serge Cormier also secured their seats, as did Darrell Sampson, Darren Fisher, Sean Fraser, Sean Casey and Churence Rogers.

Rookie Liberal candidate Kody Blois also held on to the Kings-Hants seat vacated by former cabinet minister Scott Brison earlier this year.

Federal Election 2019: Why Global News is projecting a minority government

Federal Election 2019: Why Global News is projecting a minority government

Several Conservatives managed to chip away at the Liberal hold on Atlantic Canada though, with three formerly red seats swinging blue.

Story continues below advertisement

Conservative Richard Bragdon won the riding of Tobique–Mactaquac away from incumbent Liberal T.J. Harvey. John Williamson also won the riding of New Brunswick Southwest away from Liberal incumbent Karen Ludwig.

Conservative Rob Moore also won the New Brunswick seat of Fundy Royal away from Liberal Alaina Lockhart, who was among the crop of first-time MPs swept into office in 2015.

Federal Election 2019: Conservatives concerned, NDP ‘excited’ over Liberal minority projection

Federal Election 2019: Conservatives concerned, NDP ‘excited’ over Liberal minority projection

But the comeback story of the night so far is that of the NDP’s Jack Harris, who will be returning to Ottawa.

Harris had been a longtime NDP MP for the Newfoundland riding of St. John’s East before he lost to Liberal Nick Whelan in 2015.

Results in Quebec also hinted at early signs of strong showing by the Bloc Quebecois with that party taking 20 seats so far in the province.

Several Liberal cabinet ministers from Quebec have kept their seats though: both Marc Garneau, Melanie Joly and David Lametti held on to their Montreal-area seats while Jean-Yves Duclos kept his Quebec City seat in what had been predicted to be a close race.

Pablo Rodriguez, who served as minister of Canadian heritage in the last government, also kept his seat, as did longtime Liberal Francis Scarpaleggia.

Story continues below advertisement

Prominent Conservatives in that province who also kept their seats include Gérard Deltell, Pierre Paul-Hus, Alain Rayes, Luc Berthold and Steven Blaney.

Over in Ontario, Kirsty Duncan was the first of the Liberal cabinet ministers from that province to secure her Toronto-area seat, as did Bill Blair, Bill Morneau, Mary Ng, Carolyn Bennett and Navdeep Bains. Bardish Chagger and Ahmed Hussen also held onto their seats.

Federal Election 2019: Morneau says results ‘great for Canadians’

Federal Election 2019: Morneau says results ‘great for Canadians’

Maverick Liberal Nathaniel Erskine-Smith also kept his downtown Toronto seat in Beaches-East York.

At the same time, the Liberals lost the Northern Ontario riding of Kenora to the NDP’s Rudy Turtle, who was chief of the Grassy Narrows First Nation.

Conservatives Scott Reid, Cheryl Gallant and Michael Barrett kept their Eastern Ontario ridings.

Closer to Ottawa, Liberal Mona Fortier held on to the historically safe seat of Ottawa-Vanier while David McGuinty kept his seat of Ottawa South.

Marie-France Lalonde kept the riding of Orleans in Liberal hands after quitting her role as MPP for that same riding provincially last month.

Conservatives see strong showing so far in Prairies

Large swaths of the Prairies are seeing a strong Conservative showing, with the party largely sweeping Alberta so far and many parts of Saskatchewan and Manitoba. Of the Conservatives in the West, James Bezan was the first to secure his Manitoba riding of Selkirk-Interlake-Eastman.

Story continues below advertisement

Conservative Candice Bergan also kept her Manitoba seat while incumbent Conservatives Larry Maguire, Dan Mazier, Robert Kitchen, Glen Motz, Ted Falk, Cathay Wagantall, John Barlow and Arnold Viersen also kept theirs in that province and in Alberta and Saskatchewan.

Prominent Conservative Michelle Rempel kept her seat in Calgary Nose Hill as Tories swept seats across that city, including taking two former Liberal seats that had been held by Kent Hehr and Darshan Kang (who was kicked out of the Liberal caucus and most recently sat as an Independent).

READ MORE: Conservative Tim Uppal wins Edmonton Mill Woods seat, booting Liberal Amarjeet Sohi

Amarjeet Sohi, who had served as Liberal cabinet minister overseeing the natural resources portfolio, lost his Edmonton Mill Woods seat to Conservative challenger Tim Uppal.

Conservatives Shannon Stubbs, Rachael Harder, Mike Lake, Stephanie Kusie, Michael Cooper, Garnett Genuis, Bob Zimmer, Todd Doherty and Chris Warkentin are also among the incumbents who held on to their Alberta seats.

READ MORE: Conservative Greg McLean beats out longtime Liberal Kent Hehr in Calgary Centre

So far, Kevin Lamoureux, Dan Vandal and Jim Carr are the only Liberals to win seats in the Prairies.

Lamoureux represents Winnipeg North while Carr, who served as a cabinet minister in the last government held on to Winnipeg South Centre.

Story continues below advertisement

Vandal maintained his Manitoba seat of Saint Boniface-Saint Vital.

The NDP’s Niki Ashton also held on to her Manitoba riding of Churchill-Keewatinook Aski.

The NDP has also kept two seats in B.C. so far: Skeena-Bulkley Valley, which had been represented by longtime NDP MP Nathan Cullen until he announced earlier this year he would not run again, will be held now by Taylor Bachrach, while Jenny Kwan keeps her Vancouver East seat.

With files from Beatrice Britneff

© 2019 Global News, a division of Corus Entertainment Inc.

Source link

Show More

Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

%d bloggers like this: